For most of the people who live in the east area of Japan, March 11th is a day that we never forget. We felt how strong the quake was.

I am sure almost all of us can recall what we’re doing as the great earthquake struck.

March 11th is a Friday that I never forget. I was in Oookayama campus, I swam, I finished. After swimming, my mom’s calling me. We talked about my upcoming graduation on March 28th, about life, and my next step. We kept talking as I sat down in cafeteria for the sake of convenience chat.

Around 14:40 JST, still talking, I felt a shake. It’s normal in Japan. I told my mom an earthquake’s happening and she told me to leave the building. Quickly, I went out of the cafeteria despite no one moved. Heading toward the evacuation area, I saw around one or two bikes fell down – it is not normal, suddenly I knew this earthquake was different and I ran to the open space.

The shakes were getting stronger, even I saw a woman fell down in the evacuation area – it is strange, I wished it hadn’t got stronger. In front of me the West 9 building’s moving back and forth in a way I’ve never seen before – please stop!!! This time I was really scared there would be victims.

It was the greatest earthquake recorded in Japan’s history. Since then, the days ahead are tough and we are still recovering.

Pray for Japan.

Here are some pictures of Oookayama Campus, Tokyo Institute of Technology, just after the earthquake.